Silkroad Online Forums

A community forum for the free online game Silkroad Online. Discuss Silkroad Online, read up on guides, and build your character and skills.

Faq Search Members Chat  Register Profile Login

All times are UTC

Post subject: NSR ~ Taking a break
PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 8:43 am 
Common Member

Hello, this is my first attempt at RAW photography and also using people as my subject matter, hope you like it,

Cnc please :)

Post subject: Re: NSR ~ Taking a break
PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:03 pm 
Ex-Staff

Its blurred in the wrong spots. Makes it annoying to look at. kiu though

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:38 am 

I'm guessing the bokeh effect was added later on via PS (unless you're using tilt/shift lens). It's really not an easy task to make blurring look natural in photographs using post-processing digital programs -- especially detailed ones. You have to remember that the amount of blurring is relative to the distance of that object to your camera (and the aperture, focus, etc). As far as the composition goes, it's not bad but it could've been a lot better. I try not to yell out "RULE OF THIRDS!" or "LESS/MORE HEADROOM PLEASE!" right away in every image that I see just because it's not exactly a rule -- it's a guideline but can always be broken for the sake of creativity. In addition, the image seems slightly underexposed. Probably around a -0.5 or -1 on the light meter. Easily fixed with RAW format.

Anyway, moving away from the technical aspects of the image, I believe that photos about people -- real people (kind of like a photojournalistic style) -- should show a lot about the subject. In this case, I feel that you distance yourself from the subject and it's really hard to get a glimpse of what you want to project with this image. It doesn't always mean you need to get up close and personal with them but figuring out a way to do it is the challenging part -- it's where the artist in you needs to come out.