Silkroad Online Forums

A community forum for the free online game Silkroad Online. Discuss Silkroad Online, read up on guides, and build your character and skills.

Faq Search Members Chat  Register Profile Login

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 109 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on Linux Ubuntu. -20/9/08 Update-
PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 9:40 pm 
Active Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 749
Location: Guild Wars
PR0METHEUS wrote:
JKMB wrote:
I have a slight problem with it atm,
...image...
As you can see the mouse cursor is below the button I wish to press by a considerable ammount, its just a little annoying because idk where im clicking, is there any way to fix this?


It's a little annoying, but before you run the SRO launcher, you have to hide the two toolbars on your Ubuntu screen. Click the arrow button on either side of the bar at the top (the bar with the Application, places, and system menus) and the bar at the bottom (next to the trash can). This will slide the two bars to the corner of the screen.

You just have to hide the panels BEFORE opening the SRO launcher.

@Sovereign - My system is set to full resolution, same resolution in wine, sro, and xorg.conf, and I have this problem too. I just hide my panels and everything is fine.

I haven't tried this, but maybe you can set the panels to "not always on top" or similar so the SRO screen can go "over top" of the panels... Hiding them works fine too.


Ah. Sorry i did not know of that method, never tried that before.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on Linux Ubuntu. -20/9/08 Update-
PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 2:34 pm 
Banned User
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 822
Location:
Venus
Thx Prometheus and Sovereign, problem solved. :D

_________________
* Zeus: JKMD - lvl 77 INT S/S - PvP / inactive
Guild: UnitedLegion
* Zeus: Soul_Stealer - lvl 82 STR Warlock/Rogue - N/A / retired
Guild: N/A

* Venus: JKMB - lvl 27 INT S/S - Grinding / inactive
Guild: PureEntity
* Venus: JKME - lvl 51 STR Warrior/Cleric - Ress'd / active
Guild: PureEntity


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on Linux Ubuntu. -20/9/08 Update-
PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 11:48 pm 
New Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 44
Location: new york
i cant even view the silkroad website. Anyone know why?

Edit: Nvm got site working, currently installing it


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on Linux Ubuntu. -20/9/08 Update-
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 11:09 pm 
Banned User
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 822
Location:
Venus
Hate to come and bug you guys for help again, but I have another small problem, when ever I look at the bard "Dance" skill animation my client crashes, I have attemtped to resolve this by changing the graphic settings in game and disabling things such as party buff status, but it doesnt seem to work, and once im within about 30m of a bard using dance, I get the "???" error and d/c, is there any possible fix for this? :(
Dont flame uBunut noop plys. :(

_________________
* Zeus: JKMD - lvl 77 INT S/S - PvP / inactive
Guild: UnitedLegion
* Zeus: Soul_Stealer - lvl 82 STR Warlock/Rogue - N/A / retired
Guild: N/A

* Venus: JKMB - lvl 27 INT S/S - Grinding / inactive
Guild: PureEntity
* Venus: JKME - lvl 51 STR Warrior/Cleric - Ress'd / active
Guild: PureEntity


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on Linux Ubuntu. -20/9/08 Update-
PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 7:06 pm 
Casual Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 86
Location: Absolute or relative?
Hi,
Nice guide, though a bit too simplistic IMO (then again that's the most straight forward method to start playing ASAP).
I would like to mention that the latest release of Ubuntu (8.10, code name Intrepid Ibex) has an updated ATI binary driver available (the ones you install from the Proprietary Drivers Manager as suggested in this guide). Among other things, this driver is supposed to solve issues with Wine so playing SRO in Ubuntu on ATI hardware shouldn't be red flagged anymore.
If you use an older release then you should either:
- Head to ATI's download page for Linux drivers and CAREFULLY read the instructions from the wiki
- Give the Open Source drivers a shot, instructions for Ubuntu 8.04 (Hardy Heron) here.

_________________
Asking for powerleveling is like asking for someone else to hold your junk while you're taking a leak.
The words "skilled" and "rogue" have NOTHING to do close to each other for whatever reason.
Trice wrote:
If you want to flame, take it to 4chan.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on Linux Ubuntu. -20/9/08 Update-
PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:34 am 
Banned User
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 188
Location:
Rome
i have a lagging issue =[ it take about few second after i click to move then my char move anyone can help?

_________________
<< banned for selling characters. -cin >>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on Linux Ubuntu. -20/9/08 Update-
PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 11:35 am 
Active Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 749
Location: Guild Wars
OlHybrid wrote:
Hi,
Nice guide, though a bit too simplistic IMO (then again that's the most straight forward method to start playing ASAP).
I would like to mention that the latest release of Ubuntu (8.10, code name Intrepid Ibex) has an updated ATI binary driver available (the ones you install from the Proprietary Drivers Manager as suggested in this guide). Among other things, this driver is supposed to solve issues with Wine so playing SRO in Ubuntu on ATI hardware shouldn't be red flagged anymore.
If you use an older release then you should either:
- Head to ATI's download page for Linux drivers and CAREFULLY read the instructions from the wiki
- Give the Open Source drivers a shot, instructions for Ubuntu 8.04 (Hardy Heron) here.


If someone with an ATI card can test and confirm this, then i will unflag it. But i myself dont have an ATI so i can't.

JKMB wrote:
Hate to come and bug you guys for help again, but I have another small problem, when ever I look at the bard "Dance" skill animation my client crashes, I have attemtped to resolve this by changing the graphic settings in game and disabling things such as party buff status, but it doesnt seem to work, and once im within about 30m of a bard using dance, I get the "???" error and d/c, is there any possible fix for this? :(
Dont flame uBunut noop plys. :(


Some people have also had this problem in the past. I have no idea what causes it, but it is a bug. Check a few pages back, some people were talking about it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on Linux Ubuntu. -20/9/08 Update-
PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 7:18 pm 
Banned User
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 188
Location:
Rome
weird bug as it is i stop lagging then lag then stop out of no where

_________________
<< banned for selling characters. -cin >>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on Linux Ubuntu. -20/9/08 Update-
PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 9:24 pm 
Banned User
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 188
Location:
Rome
wen u install sro on ubuntu does the sro in ur window get delete and have to reinstall?

_________________
<< banned for selling characters. -cin >>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on Linux Ubuntu. -20/9/08 Update-
PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 12:35 am 
Senior Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 4093
Location: Earth
Hyphy wrote:
wen u install sro on ubuntu does the sro in ur window get delete and have to reinstall?


No, not at all. Ubuntu and Windows are installed on completely separate locations of your hard drive. They won't overwrite each other.

You could even install 10 different copies of SRO within Linux if you really wanted to. Not that you'd run them all at the same time, but different configurations you could switch between I suppose.

_________________
Missing the good times in SRO... :love:

SRO:
1x, STR Blader (Thebes)
54, STR blader (Venice)
0x, INT wizard (Venice)
19, INT spear (Venice)
34, STR rogue/bard (Venus)
0x, STR blader (Venus)
8x, INT bard/cleric (Gaia)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on Linux Ubuntu. -20/9/08 Update-
PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 7:55 pm 
Banned User
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 188
Location:
Rome
o ic weird how my window ask me if i want to replace my sro that already exist wen its not on there o-o

_________________
<< banned for selling characters. -cin >>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on Linux Ubuntu. -20/9/08 Update-
PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 1:14 pm 
Active Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 749
Location: Guild Wars
If you are using Wine then when you install silkroad it should go to the virtual C drive and you shouldnt get an error, im guessing your doing something wrong.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on Linux Ubuntu. -20/9/08 Update-
PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 5:00 pm 
Senior Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 4093
Location: Earth
This is just a hunch, but for the person that's getting the error about overwriting Silkroad even though it's not installed, how did you install Ubuntu? Did you use Wubi? Granted, I've never used Wubi, but it's supposed to let you install Linux from within Windows as if it was just an application. It doesn't create partitions, so I assume it stores the Linux files right in your Windows NTFS drive (C: drive).

In that case, Linux might be trying to install SRO in the real C:\Program Files\Silkroad instead of the fake one that wine uses under /home/user/.wine/drive_c/Program\ Files/Silkroad...

Maybe someone who has used Wubi can confirm? Assuming Wubi was even used above.

Just a possible cause I thought of.

_________________
Missing the good times in SRO... :love:

SRO:
1x, STR Blader (Thebes)
54, STR blader (Venice)
0x, INT wizard (Venice)
19, INT spear (Venice)
34, STR rogue/bard (Venus)
0x, STR blader (Venus)
8x, INT bard/cleric (Gaia)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on Linux Ubuntu. -20/9/08 Update-
PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 10:23 pm 
Casual Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 79
Location: Wherever I choose
Nice point, prometheus. Since ubuntu might be treated as a program, so windows will detect the additional installation of sro and the installer will get pissed off. Personally, I run xubuntu (awesome performance over windows), but I avoid wubi b/c off the
Potential for the above problem to happen. Props to evryone who is running Linux and plating sro, they truly are a perfect match!

_________________
Image
"M" Server, PM me


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on Linux Ubuntu. -20/9/08 Update-
PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:29 am 
Senior Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 4093
Location: Earth
Well even with Wubi, I don't think Windows itself is running when you're in Linux. They're still two separate operating systems. It's just that the files themselves might be on the same partition.

Meh, I don't even have windows on my computer at all. I don't think I even have any Microsoft stuff on here at all! :-D

_________________
Missing the good times in SRO... :love:

SRO:
1x, STR Blader (Thebes)
54, STR blader (Venice)
0x, INT wizard (Venice)
19, INT spear (Venice)
34, STR rogue/bard (Venus)
0x, STR blader (Venus)
8x, INT bard/cleric (Gaia)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on Linux Ubuntu. -20/9/08 Update-
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 4:31 am 
Banned User
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 188
Location:
Rome
how do i install a new font for ubuntu because i play vsro and i cant seem to install the fonts with wine =[

_________________
<< banned for selling characters. -cin >>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on Linux Ubuntu. -20/9/08 Update-
PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:35 pm 
Casual Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 86
Location: Absolute or relative?
Hyphy: go to System > Administration > Language support, install Vietnamese and enable support for complex characters, that should do the trick

Sovereign: SRO works fine in Wine with ATI, tested with fglrx 8.12 and Wine 1.1.12, there's only one minor annoyance, the game mouse cursor appears in some kind of white checkerboard box. Otherwise smooth, all effects (besides Water reflections of course) on.

Edit: if you want to install the latest ATI drivers on Ubuntu Hardy (8.04) following instructions from the unofficial wiki, skip the post installation tweaks for newer cards.

_________________
Asking for powerleveling is like asking for someone else to hold your junk while you're taking a leak.
The words "skilled" and "rogue" have NOTHING to do close to each other for whatever reason.
Trice wrote:
If you want to flame, take it to 4chan.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on Linux Ubuntu. -20/9/08 Update-
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:04 am 
Hi, I'm New Here
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
Location:
Mercury
For the problem with the checkerboard box, I found a fix.

I have an Nvidia card, not ATI but I am assuming the problems are still the same. It is a opengl drawing error of some sort...anyway just make sure that

Option "SWCursor" "false"
Option "HWCursor" "true" is in your /etc/X11/xorg.conf and restart x

this fixed it for me, hope it helps!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on Linux Ubuntu. -20/9/08 Update-
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 2:23 pm 
Loyal Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 1771
Location: Completely in flux
Hey guys/gals,

Since this has been kind of used as an informational tool, I thought I would push something new: LinuxMint. It comes preconfigured with all the codecs, and Wine installs easily - I don't recall, probably 1.01 for Ubuntu 8.04 I think. I'm not on my home PC.

I partitioned 40 gigs space out of my secondary drive /sdb and managed to just mount my primary. Then I grabbed WineDoors, configured Wine for Win98, installed Silkroad, and ran it. It didn't like the old installer so I copied the entire program files\silkroad folder from my Windows install over the top of the "old" install. It runs fine, Hotan is not laggy nearly as much. Haven't tried the dance skills, since I'm a bard, but if it works I'll list the versions of Wine/Winedoors that it's working on.

LinuxMint didn't tell me what kernel it was using - maybe Debian, but it really looks like Ubuntu and I'm pretty sure it's gnome, not KDE - although I can run either.

Not to mention it plays mp3's out of the box without that silly crap about licensing and illegal activities, detected my USB printer and I got samba set up in minutes. So far it's my favorite distro. I was running Ubuntu 7.04 before and Mint looked cool, so I figured I'd try it. More to come!

edit: LM 8 is based off Ubuntu 9.10, so anything that worked with 8/9.04/9.10 Ubuntu should work with Mint.

_________________
Image

iSRO - AsparTame 8x - retired
Salvation - Aspar 70


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 109 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group