Silkroad Online Forums

A community forum for the free online game Silkroad Online. Discuss Silkroad Online, read up on guides, and build your character and skills.

Faq Search Members Chat  Register Profile Login

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 127 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:53 am 
Frequent Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 1246
Location: ~
Not sure where this should go so I'll just put it here. o.O
Don't know if this solution for playing SRO in Macs was mentioned before (I searched but found nothing), so I apologize in advance if it was. =)

I have a Windows XP partition on my Mac that I only use for Silkroad. Today I stumbled upon this app called CrossOver Games (version 7.0). I read on the website that Silkroad Online was not working with this program, but I tried it anyway. :P After downloading and installing the program, I opened the Silkroad installtion file and to my surprise, it started working and installing. =D I finished installing the client and downloading the updates. So no more Windows partition for me! w00t!

Image

I should also note that Silkroad on Mac runs MUCH smoother and loads much quicker than the one on my Windows partition. o.O It just feels a whole lot more responsive. =)



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 3:00 am 
Banned User
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 4016
Location: Australia
But MACS suck =D. At the hotel I was staying at in New York, they had a Mac, and it totally sucked. From the Keyboard to the Monitor, to the applications etc - I hated it. Everyone to their own, but I much rather regular desktops, the only decent thing Apple made were iPods, and even they aren't amazing!

_________________
<< banned for racism. -cin >>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 3:03 am 
Senior Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 4490
Location:
Pacific
Your academy hates you.

P.S. Coolio


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 3:15 am 
Loyal Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 1674
Location: la revolucion
Snoopy wrote:
But MACS suck =D. At the hotel I was staying at in New York, they had a Mac, and it totally sucked. From the Keyboard to the Monitor, to the applications etc - I hated it. Everyone to their own, but I much rather regular desktops, the only decent thing Apple made were iPods, and even they aren't amazing!



well you know those complimentary computers at hotels , little kids proly spill their juice on the key boards

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 3:16 am 
Frequent Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 1246
Location: ~
@Snoopy

I do a lot of graphic work on my computer and I find making projects on my Mac to be a much more pleasant experience overall. =) There are just too many interface inconsistencies in Windows that I've found frustrating to work with, or just plain annoying. XD But I suppose to each their own.

@Rainigul

lmao XD
It's only my friend in the academy and some random guy, and neither of them ever want my help. =( And they won't graduate either! >=[


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 3:16 am 
Loyal Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 1934
Location:
Off Topic
omg, do you think it works on the mac book?? Can you send over a link to this program!?!?! If this works, this will be amazing

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 3:23 am 
Frequent Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 1246
Location: ~
rumpleKillskin wrote:
omg, do you think it works on the mac book?? Can you send over a link to this program!?!?! If this works, this will be amazing

http://www.codeweavers.com/products/cxgames/ <- Link to the official website =)
But I'm impatient and got mine through a torrent. :>

I'm pretty sure it will work on a MacBook. =)

Code:
Requirements--
Mac Version

    * Intel-based Macintosh system running Mac OS X (note: CrossOver Games will not run on PowerPC systems)
    * 120 MB of free disk space
    * CrossOver will run fine on both Tiger and Leopard versions of Mac OS X.
    * Some low end Mac systems with built in Video chip sets may not be able to play high performance first person games at full frame rates.


Search for 'CrossOver Games 7.0'.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 3:37 am 
Loyal Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: May 2008
Posts: 1844
Location: ¿ɥǝ ɐpɐuɐɔ
YES another PC vs mac THREAD !!!!!!

pc (no offense) will always win on this forums prolly since theres just so many happy pc users on here, sorry mac

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 3:42 am 
Loyal Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 1934
Location:
Off Topic
BlackFox898 wrote:
YES another PC vs mac THREAD !!!!!!

pc (no offense) will always win on this forums prolly since theres just so many happy pc users on here, sorry mac



um sorry, but wth are you talking about lol. Hes telling the people who have macs they can now play on them.


OT: It says 7 days trial. Its not free?

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 3:43 am 
Frequent Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 1246
Location: ~
BlackFox898 wrote:
YES another PC vs mac THREAD !!!!!!

pc (no offense) will always win on this forums prolly since theres just so many happy pc users on here, sorry mac

How is this a a PC vs Mac thread? o_O

I made the thread to let people know that it is possible to install and play Silkroad Online on a Mac system. I don't see how you deduced from this that the thread is supposed to be some sort of pointless debate. :?

EDIT: Yeah, rumpleKillskin, it's not a free product lol. Which is why I got my copy from a torrent. XD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 3:52 am 
Valued Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 477
Location:
Venus
the "free" way would be to download wine through ports, and use that. (like it's done on linux)

_________________
BlessedSoul - Battle Bard • Wartune - Warrior
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 4:03 am 
Loyal Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 1934
Location:
Off Topic
lol, any clue you can tell me how to do so?? Rather not buy it =/

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 4:04 am 
Active Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 786
Location:
Ksro
NICE JOB! But SRO is still sexier on Linux. :P :P

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 5:07 am 
Loyal Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: May 2008
Posts: 1844
Location: ¿ɥǝ ɐpɐuɐɔ
rumpleKillskin wrote:
BlackFox898 wrote:
YES another PC vs mac THREAD !!!!!!

pc (no offense) will always win on this forums prolly since theres just so many happy pc users on here, sorry mac



um sorry, but wth are you talking about lol. Hes telling the people who have macs they can now play on them.


OT: It says 7 days trial. Its not free?


i know that but i assumed it from the first few posts

Snoopy wrote:
But MACS suck =D.


and i am one of those people who likes to start these types of things, gl with getting sro to work on there eh..

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 5:18 am 
Loyal Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 1934
Location:
Off Topic
BlackFox898 wrote:
rumpleKillskin wrote:
BlackFox898 wrote:
YES another PC vs mac THREAD !!!!!!

pc (no offense) will always win on this forums prolly since theres just so many happy pc users on here, sorry mac



um sorry, but wth are you talking about lol. Hes telling the people who have macs they can now play on them.


OT: It says 7 days trial. Its not free?


i know that but i assumed it from the first few posts

Snoopy wrote:
But MACS suck =D.


and i am one of those people who likes to start these types of things, gl with getting sro to work on there eh..


You like making pointless little arguments???

OT: Ya, so I installed the program, got sro to install. I hit start, but now when it go's to the login screen, its just the cursor, a black screen, and the login music. Any clue on what it is doing??

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 5:21 am 
Frequent Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 1246
Location: ~
rumpleKillskin wrote:
OT: Ya, so I installed the program, got sro to install. I hit start, but now when it go's to the login screen, its just the cursor, a black screen, and the login music. Any clue on what it is doing??

Hmm, did you start SRO at max resolution?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 7:31 am 
Valued Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 434
Location:
Alexander
Fug_Dup wrote:
Not sure where this should go so I'll just put it here. o.O
Don't know if this solution for playing SRO in Macs was mentioned before (I searched but found nothing), so I apologize in advance if it was. =)

I have a Windows XP partition on my Mac that I only use for Silkroad. Today I stumbled upon this app called CrossOver Games (version 7.0). I read on the website that Silkroad Online was not working with this program, but I tried it anyway. :P After downloading and installing the program, I opened the Silkroad installtion file and to my surprise, it started working and installing. =D I finished installing the client and downloading the updates. So no more Windows partition for me! w00t!

Image

I should also note that Silkroad on Mac runs MUCH smoother and loads much quicker than the one on my Windows partition. o.O It just feels a whole lot more responsive. =)

holy shit is there any way to get crossover free after you do the trial (like a crack or anything)? i realy need to try this


_________________
98% of the teenage population put something gay like "98% of the teenage population will try, does or has tried smoking pot. If you're one of the 2% who hasn't, copy & paste this into your signature.".
If you're one of the 2% who hasn't, copy & paste this into your signature.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 9:34 am 
Banned User
Offline

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 4143
Location:
Babel
Image

I had to lol!!!
this topic just reminded me of this image

_________________
<<banned from SRF for bot admission. -SG>>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 11:40 am 
Senior Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 4238
Location: Life
Vandango wrote:
Image

I had to lol!!!
this topic just reminded me of this image


It's either being gay with a Mac.
Or beyond stupid with a Dell.

I want neither to be honest.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 4:02 pm 
Senior Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 4490
Location:
Pacific
Yeah, Dell's are retarded.

Where's the picture of the one that's like "PC - Mac" And then it's like, "When your webcam breaks", and the whole mac is gone, but only the webcam on the PC is gone.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 4:08 pm 
Valued Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 477
Location:
Venus
Image

_________________
BlessedSoul - Battle Bard • Wartune - Warrior
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 4:43 pm 
Loyal Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 1934
Location:
Off Topic
Can we keep this on topic?? If you wanna start something with mac's and pc's I think the off topic lounge is for you.


OT: What resolution should I set it for a macbook?? Its weird, all I get is a black screen with the sro cursor. Now that I think of it, Fug, what should I juse for a mouse lol

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 4:53 pm 
Senior Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 4490
Location:
Pacific
rumpleKillskin wrote:
Can we keep this on topic?? If you wanna start something with mac's and pc's I think the off topic lounge is for you.


OT: What resolution should I set it for a macbook?? Its weird, all I get is a black screen with the sro cursor. Now that I think of it, Fug, what should I juse for a mouse lol


That's what happens on my computer too, after you get that, wait for like 30 seconds, then click, and it should work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 4:54 pm 
Loyal Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 1934
Location:
Off Topic
hmm, ok. I will give it a try later. Though I remember last night I was clicking haha. Its weird, its just the visual aspect too, because the music is going so I know it can work.

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 5:26 pm 
Banned User
Offline

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 444
Location:
Oasis
:love: OASIS :love:

_________________
<<banned from SRF for bot admission. -SG>>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 5:32 pm 
Loyal Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 1934
Location:
Off Topic
Nice spammage

OT: Ya, it doesnt work. Who knows why. I tried clicking after 30 seconds, didnt work. I tried differnt resolutions, didnt work. Maybe it doesnt work for macbooks..

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 6:12 pm 
Active Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 786
Location:
Ksro
boast wrote:
Image


+ Infinity

_________________
Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 9:59 pm 
Frequent Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 1246
Location: ~
rumpleKillskin wrote:
Nice spammage

OT: Ya, it doesnt work. Who knows why. I tried clicking after 30 seconds, didnt work. I tried differnt resolutions, didnt work. Maybe it doesnt work for macbooks..

Are you using the trial or did you get the patcher for it? Also, repair your permissions lol. That seems to be a big issue with CrossOver.

Just open up Terminal and type;
Code:
sudo diskutil repairPermissions /

Hope that helps. =)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 10:03 pm 
Loyal Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 1934
Location:
Off Topic
Im using the trial, for 7 days. And im still a novice mac user, terminal?? lol :P

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Silkroad on a Mac =)
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 10:06 pm 
Frequent Member
User avatar
Offline

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 1246
Location: ~
rumpleKillskin wrote:
Im using the trial, for 7 days. And im still a novice mac user, terminal?? lol :P

I recommend you find the patcher to remove the trial lol.

For Terminal, just go to the Spotlight search and look for Terminal. Open the app and type the command I wrote on my previous post. =)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 127 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group